Working Title: Indra’s Net

IndrasNetThis is a projection piece I’ve been working on for over a year now, off and on. Once I figure out how to do a panoramic shot in the dark I’ll be able to show more. Most of the drawings are done on plexiglass chips, or else found plastic trash. I use either 3 or 4 overhead projectors, depending on how much wall is available. I was trying to sum up the materials used and came up with this: Actual and manufactured detritus, unfired clay, projected drawing on plexiglass, knitted mylar.

The title of the piece refers to the Vedic incarnation of the god Indra, who holds an infinite net with a jewel set at each node, signifying the interconnectedness of all life. I see the unfired clay objects as references to flesh–powdery and fragile–surrounded by the remnant-world of the Anthropocene, torn fragments of net at its center.

Leave a comment